Anime Festival Asia 2008: Way to test the waters

001

On the 22nd and 23rd of November 2008, Anime Festival Asia (AFA) 2008 was hosted at Suntec Convention Center. It’s a lame opening sentence, I know, but my brain has been shorted by school work lately, so don’t expect my blog to be updated as often anymore. I camped for both days, and in a way glad I did, because I was among the first to enter on both days (first in line on day 2), but my claims do not include people with media fucks. Anyways, day 2 camping was empty, so I took the opportunity to take some pictures of the outside without anyone in the way. This post is horribly delayed, don’t remind me.

ようこそ!そして、お帰りなさい、ご主人様!

ようこそ!そして、お帰りなさい、ご主人様!

We all know we can enter by here, if it isn't barricaded by cosplayers.

We all know we can enter by here, if it isn't blocked by cosplayers, that is...

Well, not much action. On day 1, I was in line with comrades(in the order I think they arrived) Yuki-to, FarizAsuka, Fuzzy, chibihien, BigguGai, Nanopulp, e-jump, wcloudxkumo, Gordon and Squee and not forgeting Banchou Panther, who gets mentioned separately because he is that epicspecial. I may have missed out people, so let me know if I did. Day 2 was Nanopulp, wcloudxkumo, Panther, Fariz, BigguGai, Gordon, Squee, Chibihien, Yumeno, Fuzzy and Malzias. Likewise, not likely to be a complete listing, let me know if I missed anyone out.

Moar propaganda...

Moar propaganda...

After we could get in on day 1, Gordon and I rushed straight to Takashimaya’s booth to get our limited edition G3 Gundams. RX-78-2 MG Ver 2.0 got horded by Singapore Modelling Club (SMC), but they were forced to put them back, yay! Why I’m bashing the SMC will be revealed later. I did manage to get a VER 2.0 RX-78-2, and I got a slip to get Kunio’s autograph! After that, I spammed pictures of the displays. Day 1 was purely for shopping and display shelf taking, but I got some on day 2 too, some of which were taken by my brother who hijacked my camera half-way. Anyways, picture spam.

Sakura-Hime <3

Sakura-Hime ❤

006

CM's Stuff

CM's stuff

008

009

010

011

DyGenGuar

DyGenGuar

013

014

MOYASE! DAIMOSU!

MOYASE! DAIMOSU!

GFF RX-78-2

GFF RX-78-2

G3 Gundam

G3 Gundam (I HAZ WUN TOO)

1/60 Trans-Am clear color Exia

1/60 Trans-Am clear color Exia

1/144 clear color Exia

1/144 clear color Exia

020

021

022

023

SIC Kamen Riders, not enough love, like Red Ranger and Black Ranger

SIC Kamen Riders. They don't get enough love, like Red Ranger and Black Ranger

MG Sinanju, I want one...

MG Sinanju, I want one...

MG Unicorn, I has one, but it looks no whereas epic as this one

MG Unicorn, I has one, but it looks no whereas epic as this one

MG Infinite Justice, my wallet does not need one at the moment

MG Infinite Justice, my wallet does not need one at the moment

Zaku II!

Zaku II!

029

Nice base, I want one

Nice base, I want one

031

MISTER BUSHIDO'S AHEAD

MISTER BUSHIDO'S AHEAD

Prototype Zeronos and Deneb

Prototype SIC Zeronos and Deneb

034

GORUDION! HANMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

GORUDION! HANMAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

Repli-GaiGar

Repli-GaiGar

Vita's face looks a little off...

Vita's face looks a little off...

GAOFIGHGAR... ME WANTS

GAOFIGHGAR... ME WANTS

HERU! ANDO! HEEVUN!

HERU! ANDO! HEEVUN! My arm was tired by then.

Random Revoltechs

Random Revoltechs

Ignis by Yamato

Ignis by Yamato

Nanoha, Miku and Fate

Left to right: Nanoha, Miku and Fate

Tenko Kuugen

Tenko Kuugen. My brother cannot take pictures.

Housen Ryofu (Ren)

Housen Ryofu (Ren)

Lenneth

Lenneth

Benisu by GSC

Benisu by GSC

Saber Maid, my brother fails again.

Saber Maid, my brother fails again.

Chua Churam

Chua Churam

Fauna

Fauna

Kirijou Mitsuru

Kirijou Mitsuru

Elizabeth

Elizabeth

Next up, I present to you some Exia used for displays at stores and conventions, not unlike the oversized Freedom Gundams Toys’r’us buys in bulk.

English logo GTFO

English logo GTFO

And some of the stuff the BAKUC competitors made.

Never happened, but newfags would come in their pants if it did.

Never happened, but newfags would come in their pants if it did.

Awesome Strike Noir kitbash...

Awesome Strike Noir kitbash...

Probably happened at some point

Probably happened at some point

As you notice, these are all CE mobile suits. The reason why there isn’t any UC mobile suits is because my brother took these shots, and he’s a newfag.

Yay

Yay

My coupon for Okawara-sensei’s autograph. I’ll show the autograph when I finally finish my MG Version 2.0 RX-78-2 Gundam since I got him to autograph the instruction booklet. I didn’t think of bringing my GW cards for him to autograph because it didn’t occur to me until I got home.

Next up we have pictures of random cosplayers who I took pictures of when I wasn’t doing something about my upset stomach.

Reverse-trap Ren

Reverse-trap Ren

Some Miku goodness

Some Miku goodness

Moar Miku Goodness

Moar Miku Goodness

Poor Kaito needs some love too, not from me, though

Poor Kaito needs some love too, not from me, though

Ren x Kaito

Ren x Kaito

Moar Ren x Kaito

Moar Ren x Kaito

Random characters from Soul Eater

Random characters from Soul Eater

064

065

066

067

068

069

Next up is some pictures from the Cosmania cosplay competition.

First up, some skit of characters from Hitman Reborn.

070

071

Next up, a skit from Code Geese with Lulucopter, Spinzaku and C.C..

072

Next up, some Ultraman, I can’t remember which (I fail…), and a monster, they didn’t say which. The monster was finished off with the standard beam thingie.

073

074

075

076

077

Monster doesn’t like his headgear.

078

079

After Ultraman is a skit with Miku and Kaito.

080

081

082

083

084

085

086

087

088

Next up was an inaccurate re-enactment of that touching(in more ways than one) scene of brotherly love from Code Geese. Featuring Rolo Lamperouge and his custom colored Vincent(which Aniki called “Rina the Robot”, a name which will stick from now on). You may be wondering why I’m criticizing this, it’s because Rolo is supposed to pilot the Shinkirou, not Rina the Robot. Rina the Robot was chosen by Aniki as his favorite cosplayer, by the way. And since Aniki knew that Rina would have problems climbing up the stairs again, he asked the camera man to turn the angle of the camera onto Rina. Isn’t Aniki great?

089

090

091

092

093

094

095

096

Next up is a musical by some characters of Kingdom Hearts; Roxas and Axel.

097

098

099

Next was YET another musical skit featuring the characters from, I have no idea what series…

100

101

102

103

104

105

106

107

108

109

110

111

After that was yet another Hitman Reborn skit.

112

Next up is… I’d rather call it “costume wearing” rather than “costume playing”.

113

Anyways, to finish it up, here are some pictures of Aniki’s special performance on day 2.

114

115

116

117

118

119

120

Well, that’s it. Move along.

1 Response to “Anime Festival Asia 2008: Way to test the waters”


  1. 1 kazearashi 26 December, 2008 at 4:00 am

    This reminds me again to post the missing day 2 reports…. lol

    Hope it doesn’t get MIA… lol


Leave a Reply

