That Sure Looks Like Shit

I was looking around my desk for stuff to move around and I stumbled across my old GN Astray which was tucked away on my rack. I decided that before he moves off to storage, he should at least spend a week on display and get his own little photoshoot.


I built this little bugger near the start of this year shortly after I got my conversion parts for my GNY-001 Gundam Astraea. This bugger was my second kit-bash(the first already got greatly damaged) but his parts were way older than those used for my first kit-bash. I used remnants of my 1/144 No Grade Sword Strike Gundam, 1/144 High Grade Strike Rouge + I.W.S.P., 1/144 High Grade Duel Gundam Assault Shroud, 1/144 No Grade M1 Astray, and my 1/144 High Grade Gundam Astray Red Frame(Everyone were remnants of their former glory, if even such) and leftovers from the Gundam Exia which I converted into Astraea.

When I first designed the GN Astray, I had the idea of a dual-wielding sword style, which is why the GN has two beam sabers, the Gerbera Straight and the Sword Strike’s anti-ship sword.

The I.W.S.P.’s Gatling gun shield could be used as an optional weapon, although it would make more sense to mount it on the shield mount on the left shoulder.


The GN Astray retains the Astray’s beam sabers.


I cut off the boosters from the M1 Astray and stuck them on to the legs and puttied the GN Drive’s cone onto the back of the Astray.

The Gerbera Straight and the Sword Strike’s anti-ship sword were intended to be it’s primary weapons.


Overall, the GN Astray was purely a prototype for trying out kit-bashing, and the GN Astray was also the prototype of a more complete GN Astray, but I’ve already given up on that.


To satisfy your curiosity of what the complete GN Astray should have, they are
1) A proper shield mount on the left shoulder which can hold a shield and a cannon on the other attachment point.
2) The shield mounted on the left shoulder should have a weapon, preferably a small cannon hidden on the underside.
3) Knee spikes, don’t ask why
4) Cannons on the forearms.
5) GN Drive should be properly mounted.
6) A 4 horned crown in addition to the 2 spikes already present on the side of the head.
7) A proper sword holder for the anti-ship sword.
8) Wings.

I can hardly see it happening, but maybe I’ll rebuild it with a more articulated model as a base next time if I feel like it.

The lighting is horrible because one of the bulbs which provides my desk with light is busted and I haven’t got it replaced yet.

0 Responses to “That Sure Looks Like Shit”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

